News & Events

147 Butler Snow Attorneys Named in Best Lawyers®, 18 Named “Lawyer of the Year”

Butler Snow is pleased to announce 147 of the firm’s attorneys have been included in Best Lawyers® for 2018, and 18 have been named Best Lawyers® 2018 “Lawyer of the Year.”

“As the number of our attorneys receiving this honor increases each year, we continue to applaud their hard work and dedication to the profession,” said Don Clark, Jr., chairman Butler Snow. “This recognition reinforces our team’s commitment to the many clients, industries and communities we serve worldwide.”

Best Lawyers® recognizes a single lawyer in each community in each practice area as “Lawyer of the Year.” The 18 Butler Snow attorneys named to this list are:

Amanda Haynes YoungBest Lawyers® 2018 Insurance Law, Nashville, Tenn.

David L. JohnsonBest Lawyers® 2018 Litigation – ERISA, Nashville, Tenn.

John C. Hayworth – Best Lawyers® 2018 Litigation – Securities, Nashville, Tenn.

Melvin J. MaloneBest Lawyers® 2018 Energy Law, Nashville, Tenn.

Charles C. HarrellBest Lawyers® 2018 Product Liability Litigation – Defendants, Memphis, Tenn.

David P. JaquaBest Lawyers® 2018 Labor Law – Management, Memphis, Tenn.

Geoffrey M. HirschBest Lawyers® 2018 Commercial Transactions/UCC Law, Memphis, Tenn.

Gregg C. GumbertBest Lawyers® 2018 Commercial Finance Law, Memphis, Tenn.

Jason G. YarbroBest Lawyers® 2018 Mergers and Acquisitions, Memphis, Tenn.

Clifford HarrisonBest Lawyers® 2018 Banking and Finance Law, Jackson, Miss.

Paul VarnerBest Lawyers® 2018 Tax Law, Jackson, Miss.

James B. TuckerBest Lawyers® 2018 Corporate Compliance Law, Jackson, Miss.

Phillip S. SykesBest Lawyers® 2018 Corporate Governance Law, Jackson, Miss.

Selby A. IrelandBest Lawyers® 2018 Business Organizations (including LLCS and Partnerships), Jackson, Miss.

Thad W. VarnerBest Lawyers® 2018 Public Finance Law, Jackson, Miss.

Timothy M. ThreadgillBest Lawyers® 2018 Labor Law – Management, Jackson, Miss.

Trudy D. FisherBest Lawyers® 2018 Environmental Law, Jackson, Miss.

John L. GallowayBest Lawyers® 2018 Real Estate Law, Gulfport, Miss.

For a complete listing of Butler Snow Attorneys listed in Best Lawyers® 2018, click here.

Best Lawyers® is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. A listing in the publication is widely regarded by both clients and legal professionals as a significant honor. Best Lawyers® compiles its lists of outstanding attorneys by conducting peer-review surveys in which leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers.

“Lawyer of the Year” recognitions are also awarded to individual attorneys with the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic location. Only one lawyer is recognized as the “Lawyer of the Year” for each specialty and location.