News & Events

Ryan Beckett Named Chairman of Mississippi Tort Claims Board

Butler, Snow, O’Mara, Stevens & Cannada, PLLC (Butler Snow) Attorney P. Ryan Beckett has been appointed by Governor Phil Bryant and confirmed by the Mississippi Senate as Chairman of the Mississippi Tort Claims Board.

“We are pleased that Ryan has been chosen for this board position,” said Donald Clark, Jr., Chairman, Butler Snow. “He will bring knowledge and experience to the tort claims board, and will serve the state and profession very well.”

Beckett is a member of the firm’s Commercial Litigation Group and Energy Industry Team, focusing on several realms of litigation, including energy, elections and governmental, antitrust, consumer protection, banking and consumer lending, and more.

Beckett has been named a Mid-South Super Lawyers Rising Star in the area of Business Litigation, one of the “Top 40 under 40” by the Mississippi Business Journal, and is AV-rated by Martindale-Hubbell, among other distinctions. He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from Millsaps College and a J.D. from the University of Mississippi.

The Mississippi Tort Claims Board manages all claims brought against the State and various other governmental entities seeking damages or other relief arising out of the torts of governmental entities and their employees, while acting within the course and scope of their employment.  The other members of the Tort Claims Board include the State Attorney General, the State Treasurer, the State Insurance Commissioner, the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Executive Director of the Department of Finance and Administration, and the Executive Director of the Department of Environmental Quality.