News & Events

Two Butler Snow Attorneys Leading IADC Business Litigation Committee

Butler Snow attorneys Phillip S. Sykes and Kyle V. Miller are leading the International Association of Defense Counsel’s (IADC) Business Litigation Committee for 2019-2020. Sykes is serving as Chairman and Miller is Vice Chair of Publications.

Since 1920, the IADC has been serving a distinguished membership of corporate and insurance defense attorneys, in-house counsel and insurance executives. Its activities benefit the approximately 2,500 invitation-only, peer reviewed members and their clients, as well as the civil justice system and the legal profession. Moreover, the IADC takes a leadership role in many areas of legal reform and professional development.

Sykes is a member of the firm’s commercial litigation practice group and serves as co-chair of the Associates Review Committee. He’s a Certified Public Accountant and has been recognized by Chambers USA®, Best Lawyers in America®, Martindale-Hubbell® and Super Lawyers®.

Sykes is a member of the American and Mississippi Bar Associations, as well as the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and Mississippi Society of Certified Public Accountants. He received his bachelor’s degree, magna cum laude, from Mississippi State University and his Juris Doctor, magna cum laude, from the University of Mississippi. He previously worked at KPMG.

Miller is a member of the firm’s product liability, toxic tort and environmental practice group and serves as the chair of Butler Snow’s energy and environmental task force where he regularly defends clients in class action, catastrophic loss, product liability and consumer protection litigation. He has been recognized by Super Lawyers® as a Mid-South Rising Star, Best Lawyers in America®, Benchmark Litigation’s 40 & Under Hot List and is a fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

Miller is a member of the Mississippi Bar Association, American Bar Association, Institute for Energy Law, Defense Research Institute, Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association and the Capital Area Bar Association. He received bachelor’s degree, with honors, from the University of Southern Mississippi and his Juris Doctor from Vanderbilt University Law School.